SEIU Congratulates Judges Donohue, Dougherty And Wecht On Their Election Victory

HARRISBURG (Nov. 4, 2015) – The Pennsylvania State Council of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU) congratulates all of our endorsed candidates for their General Election victories on Tuesday.

This statement is attributable to Gabe Morgan, SEIU Pennsylvania State Council President and Pennsylvania Director of SEIU 32BJ, Neal Bisno, Secretary-Treasurer of the State Council and President of SEIU Healthcare Pennsylvania, Tom Herman, President of SEIU Local 668, and David Melman, Manager of the PA Joint Board of Workers United.

“This was a historic election for Pennsylvania. Candidates with a record of protecting the rights of working families swept the judicial elections. This delivers a strong message that respecting the rights of hardworking men and women must be a priority for the courts and legislature.

“The victories of Judges Christine Donohue, Kevin Dougherty and David Wecht will bring wisdom and integrity to the court after years of corruption and gerrymandering that disenfranchise hundreds of thousands of voters. With SEIU’s support knocking on doors, making phone calls and getting out the vote, these judges will restore order to the state’s highest court.

“Just as importantly, the election of Judge Alice Dubow to Superior Court and Michael Wojcik to Commonwealth Court adds the perspective of working families to these courts and will help ensure that equal justice is applied fairly to everyone.

“As we congratulate all of these candidates for running a great campaign, SEIU is looking forward to the major elections of President, U.S. Senator and legislative races in 2016. SEIU members will once again be out in full force for candidates who will support working families and make Pennsylvania a better place to live.”

SEIU endorsed the following victorious candidates in the General Election Pennsylvania Supreme Court

  • Christine Donohue
  • Kevin Dougherty
  • David Wecht

Pennsylvania Superior Court

  • Alice Dubow

Commonwealth Court

  • Michael Wojcik

Philadelphia Mayor

  • Jim Kenney

Montgomery County Commissioners

  • Josh Shapiro
  • Val Arkoosh


Comments are closed.